Facebook Messenger virus

Facebook Messenger virus is a technique used by hackers to hijack Facebook account and send malicious links on behalf of account’s user. Spam messages are generated on a particular schedule (once or twice a day) and distributed to all of the victim’s friends. The infected Facebook Message delivers a shortened link and a intriguing postscript, which usually include the name of the recipient and a couple of emojis. The embedded link seems to be leading to YouTube video. Once clicked, the malicious URL redirects to a phishing website filled with installers of dangerous browser extension, fake Flash Player Updates, and similar content.

The malicious virus works as a Trojan horse and belongs to the wide group of the Facebook virus. The virus has been active since 2013 and updated several times. Although Messenger virus does the rounds of Facebook for month and years, it seems that it’s on the rise again. Yesterday, the National Agency for Computer Security has alerted Tunisian Internet users against the new wave of Facebook virus and urged them to delete any suspicious messages immediately.

The latest variant is spread in a form of Facebook message containing a profile picture, the name of the recipient, and a clickable link. German cybersecurity experts has also expressed concern about a renewed distribution of malicious Facebook Messages that feature the name of the potential victim, Astonished Face emoji, e.g. “[name of the recipient] Video :o” and a link supposedly guiding to YouTube. However, experts warn that this type of links can redirect to a site requiring to reconnect to Facebook. That’s a catch to extort people’s Facebook login details and, therefore, take over the account.

The purpose of the virus is to hack victim’s Facebook account. In order to do that the virus attacks people via chat window: it pops up as a message from an individual who seems to be your friend and shows a link to some website.

If you click on this link, you will likely get redirected to a fake copy of Youtube or some other site which will suggest installing a browser add-on or software in order to view the content. If the victim agrees, the PC gets infected with malware, which additionally blocks security software in order to prevent its elimination.

What is more, it starts sending the same fake message to victim’s contacts via the same Facebook chat windows. Please, ignore all suspicious messages that come to your inbox. Even more, contact the sender and ask about the picture or video.